2014 Awards Show and Fundraiser Recap

February 24, 2014 By vincent-uribe

On Sunday, February 16th, The Arts of Life held our annual Awards Show and Fundraiser at the Kenilworth Club. The event was a great success and thanks to the generosity of our supporters, we were able to exceed our fundraising goals and raised 100% of the art-making budget for the whole year!The Awards Show provided an opportunity for artists, supporters, staff, and volunteers to come together and celebrate the studios’ achievements. Each artist received a unique award for their accomplishments during the previous year and showcased their favorite piece of artwork at the fundraiser. Over half of the pieces featured were purchased on the spot, which is a new record for The Arts of Life!In addition to a fun night out, the event was catered by Rogue Philanthropy, which provided a delicious 3-course dinner! Rogue Philanthropy is an up-and-coming organization dedicated to making practical improvements in services for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. They will be teaming up with The Arts of Life at future events, so more on Rogue Philanthropy to come!Thanks again to our artists, supporters, studio staff, and volunteers! This event would not have been possible without everyone’s help and dedication to The Arts of Life’s mission. Now let’s start the countdown for next year!Here is the full listing of award recipients:The Circle Awards•    Bill Lilly•    Elise Hylton•    Tony Perez•    Brian Reed•    Benji Torres•    Josh Stern•    Bobby Verran•    Laura Bell•    Carrie Kelley•    Andrew Sloan•    Pouya Bagherian•    Quinn ZennerThe Red Awards •    Independence Award – Stephanie Andujar & Nikole Heusman•    Bravery Award – Marianne Wehr & Emily Aussem•    Self-Advocacy Award – Tim Stone & Billy Borgerd•    Self-Awareness Award – Frances Roberts& Rebecca Kubica•    Kindness Award – Mike Marino & Alicia Porter•    Personality Award – Elisha Preston & Danny Frownfelter•    Strength Award – Christianne Msall & Rebecca TurnerThe Blue Awards •    Integrity Award – Pablo Alonzo& Phil Gazzolo•    Learning Award – Lee Draus & Erinn Nariss•    Role Model Award- Josh Wykes & Amanda Gantner•    Teaching Award – Hubert Posey & Laura Greenberg•    Determination Award – Christina Zion & Catie Brashears•    Enthusiasm Award – Linda Ruzga & Hector Jones•    Friendship Award –  Stefan Harhaj & David JonaitisThe Purple Awards•    Creativity Award – Jean Wilson & Sean Kremer•    Mendel Bronfeld Award – Debbie Vasquez & Pam Robe•    Ann Gunsberg Award – Alex Scott & Laura McManus•    Veronica Cuculich Award – Kelly Stone & Montell Payne•    Rock Star Award – Guy Conners & Ted Gram-Boarini•    Most Improved Artist Award – Kathleen Stephanski & Monika Kieca•    Artist of the Year Award – David Krueger & Russell CopenharveCheck out our Facebook page for all the pictures here!